Home > dialogue, instruction, resources > Teaching Students to Dialogue

Teaching Students to Dialogue


One of the most important lessons I learned this year was that I cannot rely on my students to come into my classroom knowing how to interact with one another.  Instead, it is my job to teach them.  Below is the handout I use in my classroom to do just that. It is based on a technique called Accountable Talk, and it has changed the way my students interact with one another.

____________________________________________________________________________

For more information about Accountable Talk, try the following resources:

  1. Siobhan Curious
    06/13/2009 at 11:44 am

    I love this. I’ve printed it out and will investigate ways to put these procedures to use in my classes. Did you do these little drawings? I know nothing about iPaper, but I’m amazed at how beautiful and eyecatching your handout is.

    • Angela Cunningham
      06/14/2009 at 4:15 pm

      The pictures are just clipart available in Word. I uploaded the document to Scribd when if finished creating, making it easier to embed online.

  2. Nancy Cook
    06/20/2009 at 2:28 pm

    Your handout is great for guiding the students to think critically during classroom and online discussions. I’d love to share this with the English teachers in my middle school building and the pre-service teachers I teach at the University of Buffalo. I can’t wait to use it next year.

  3. SBurnett
    07/07/2009 at 3:12 pm

    I posted in the camppbworks site, but am not sure I got the comment on the right page. Great hand-out for defining expectations for students. I’m very sorry to have missed meeting you at NECC. Maybe next year :-)
    Could you provide some resources for differentiated instruction?

  4. 08/05/2009 at 12:12 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this. I’ve bookmarked it and will use it in workshops and classrooms. It’s fantastic!

  5. 09/25/2009 at 12:51 am

    Angela,
    I’m not usually a fan of these clipart ‘dudes’ but I love your use of them here, and they add to the simplicity of your message. I’m going to be sharing this with my staff.
    Brilliant!

  6. 09/26/2009 at 11:05 am

    Angela:
    This chart is awesome. I will also share this with teachers at my site. It could really help us move conversation forward. Thanks for sharing!

  7. 09/26/2009 at 9:00 pm

    How do you print this converstation chart?

    • Angela Cunningham
      09/26/2009 at 10:10 pm

      To print the document, click on “More” in the Scribd toolbar. From there, you can choose to print, download, etc.

  8. 09/28/2009 at 4:21 am

    A really interesting worksheet. This looks like an excellent springboard for classroom activities.
    Thanks!

  9. 09/28/2009 at 4:22 am

    I really like this – I will print it out and try using it with my students as soon as possible. I will also pass this out around the rest of the school as I think it could be really useful. thank you

  10. 09/28/2009 at 1:14 pm

    Yup. This is fabulous! Anything you can do to make abstract things more concrete is wonderful.

  11. 09/29/2009 at 9:36 am

    Angela,

    Great guide, and one that I wish would spread around some more. We miss so many great opportunities to help students when we just ask them to “turn-and-talk” without first helping them realize the skills they need to get more out of that conversation.

  12. prof
    10/06/2009 at 1:43 pm

    Outstanding handout; I’ve struggled trying to pull these threads together for students.

  1. 06/18/2009 at 7:02 pm
  2. 09/27/2009 at 1:04 am
  3. 10/02/2009 at 5:48 pm
  4. 10/08/2009 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

